Meet Gerry

GerryGerry is a guy who knows what it’s like to stay busy and physically active. As a former law enforcement officer and current NCAA referee, his jobs and daily activities have kept him on his feet for more than 30 years.

“My knees have been through a lot,” Gerry says. “When I was on the SWAT team during my law enforcement years, we had to do a physical fitness test four times a year. On top of that, I probably officiated basketball games 100 nights out of the year.”

After years of demanding physical work, Gerry has had two knee surgeries for a torn meniscus and cartilage removal. His care from Dr. James Schaberg of Signature Orthopedics O'Fallon has allowed him to keep up with the players on the court.

“Dr. Schaberg has become a friend,” Gerry says. “He’s very professional. He has such a calming influence, and even when he has bad news to tell you, he has a nice way of getting that across.”

Gerry relies on Dr. Schaberg for what he describes as the “typical aches and pains of a senior guy and veteran referee,” and notes that he has the doctor on speed dial.

“One thing I really admire about the guy is that he’s a family man. He takes good care of his daughters and that shows in his care for his patients.” +

Fun Facts About Gerry

If you could smell only one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be? Lilac, my mom’s favorite scent.

First car? A Plymouth Duster 1971; I was in an accident a week after I got it, fixed it, and repainted it to blue from chocolate brown.

If you could have dinner with any three people, who would be on the guest list? My mom, my dad, and Jim “Boomer” Bain, my mentor in officiating who I met at referee camp in 1992. He was an icon in sports officiating.

Dream job? I’d like to own a sports team.

What was your favorite pet growing up? We had two dogs, a beagle named Gidget and a mutt named Trouble. My dad gave Trouble away, but he found his way back home two weeks later!